Print PDF

慈善性法律援助

为了公众的利益,也是为了我们自己的利益
“慈善性法律援助(Pro bono)”,大家可能都很熟悉这个词语,但却很少知道其真正的含义,其字面含义为“为公众利益”。在飞翰律师事务所,它也意味着为我们委托人、律师、员工以及社区的利益服务。本所认为,回馈社会也是一种获得知识、技能、经验及享受帮助他人的美好感觉的机会。  

对于飞翰而言,慈善性法律援助不仅仅是一项计划,它还是一种心境,一种生活方式。这就是为什么我们参与的活动就像本所的专业人员一样那么多元化。我们不仅仅局限于一些高级管理人员认为有价值的计划。我们让我们的专业人员告诉我们:对他们而言最重要的是什么?哪些领域能够让他们充分发挥自己的专长和热情?本所超过40%的律师都热衷于参与慈善性法律援助活动。本所每年会为每律师奖励80个计费小时,让他们参与慈善性法律援助活动。对于那些选择更多地参与善性法律援助工作(如诉讼)的律师,本所会奖励更多时间并计入功绩奖金中。  

有些人可能认为,仅专注于知识产权的律师事务所可承担的善性法律援助工作类型非常有限。但事实恰恰相反。飞翰的知识产权专业人员都是喜欢钻研、天资极高的人,他们喜欢接受新的挑战。我们为一些世界上最大的公司和机构受理极其复杂的“关系到公司生死存亡”的知识产权事宜。在我们所开展的慈善性法律援助活动中,我们投入了同等水平的关注度、专业技能以及承诺,以求获得最佳结果。结果相当令人满意。通过受理刑事和民事案件、进行和解谈判以及与社区非营利组织密切合作解决选区法律问题,本所律师的专业技能得到了极大的提高。我们为艺术家、儿童、老年人、退伍军人、无家可归的人以及其他群体提供法律援助,没有我们的帮助他们的需求就可能得不到满足。  

以下是我们的慈善性法律援助计划为其提供支持的一些组织和项目:  

诉讼辅导项目
这个独特的项目将为社区提供服务与一流的诉讼培训结合起来。Barbara Butterworth是该项目的负责人,之前曾是乔治敦大学法学院少年司法诊所的副主任和副教授,具有丰富的刑事审判经验。该项目让本所刚刚崭露头角的诉讼律师有机会接受法院委任担任辩护律师,在此过程中,Barbara以及本所其他经验丰富的诉讼律师会为其提供培训、帮助以及鼓励。Barbara担任协理律师,帮助在地方法院为贫穷的刑事被告辩护的律师充分了解法庭的严格要求以及陪审团说服策略。  

2008年,美国亚历山德里亚联邦地方法院批准了我们启动该项目的请求,随后该项目便扩展至弗吉尼亚州。Jonathan Shapiro是著名的审判律师,担任本所在弗吉尼亚州的诉讼导师。该项目使得本所律师有机会与联邦公设辩护人办公室共同处理公益性刑事案件。  

退伍军人援助项目
美国伤残退伍军人协会致力于为伤残退伍军人及其家属构建更加美好的生活。该组织向飞翰寻求帮助,希望飞翰能在军事法庭为伤残军人(男女)提供代理服务—该法庭的裁决将决定他们的终身利益。在许多案件中,军事法庭的裁决对个人的生活质量产生了极大的影响。目前,许多临退伍军人在军事法庭的诉讼案件无人为其提供辩护。飞翰也参与了这些案件的审判和上诉。

华盛顿地区文艺律师团
自从2004年1月开始专职负责华盛顿地区艺文律师团项目起,本所安排志愿律师与1000多名来自艺术界的人士提供帮助,他们需要获得有关艺术事宜的法律咨询或代理服务。

儿童法律中心
应儿童法律中心的请求,本所为儿童和成年人代理了许多案件。这些案件通常涉及无人照管儿童的收养或监护、争夺监护权、儿童的法定监护人代理以及其他家庭法律问题。许多此类案件需要占用夜间和周末时间进行家访并观察家长与子女之间的相处。我们还帮助儿童法律中心制定并执行其培训计划。

青少年新生组织
青少年新生组织致力于通过法律教育、指导及同龄人领导服务减少青少年犯罪和监禁。我们的帕洛阿尔托分所目前正与青少年新生组织合作推进其记录密封计划,帮助符合条件的青少年密封其少年记录。  

庇护代理项目
该项目是我们执行的持续时间最长的公益活动之一,为因种族、宗教、政治或社会原因而被迫流离失所的难民提供援助,他们目前正面临被美国驱逐出境的困境。

硅谷艺术委员会
在慈善性法律援助活动中,很少要应用到本所的知识产权许可专业知识。通过一个难得的机会,我们针对硅谷艺术委员会的一个非盈利性计划-—Artsopolis营销合作伙伴关系,为艺术和文化信息网上资源-Artsopolis.com制订了全面的许可和网络成员程序包。  

法律援助协会
我们协助法律援助协会推进其诉讼培训计划,且我们也在其志愿律师名单之列,就房东-租客以及儿童监护权纠纷等各类案件提供援助。

华盛顿公民权利及城市事务律师委员会
本所的一名合伙人现任职于该委员会的董事会,并且我们的律师经常协助该委员会处理华盛顿都会区涉及歧视和贫困问题的案件和项目。  

DC律师协会慈善性法律援助项目
当该协会需要经验丰富的诉讼律师事务所的帮助时,本所就会为其提供支持服务。

商标慈善性法律援助项目
通过本所的基层推介网络,我们的商标律师为众多组织提供了无偿服务,包括从新创科技公司到独立经营的摇滚乐团。

Print PDF

Pro Bono

For the public good. As well as our own.

Pro bono. We’re all familiar with the term, but how often do we stop and think about what it really means? Literally translated, it means “for the public good.” At Finnegan, it is also for the good of our clients, our lawyers and staff, and our community. We believe that giving back is also an opportunity to receive knowledge, expertise, experience, and the good feeling one gets from helping others.

To us, pro bono isn’t just a program. It’s a state of mind. And it’s a way of life. That’s why our involvement is as varied and diverse as the professionals at our firm. We don’t restrict programs to just a few that senior management deems worthy. We let our professionals tell us what is important to them and where they feel they can best put their passion and expertise to good use. More than 40 percent of our lawyers are actively engaged in pro bono activities. We credit 80 hours a year toward their billable hours goal. For those who choose more involved pro bono work such as litigation, the additional hours are rewarded and credited toward merit bonuses.

Some may think that a firm focusing solely on intellectual property is limited in the type of pro bono work it can take on. The exact opposite is true. Finnegan’s IP professionals are intellectually curious, talented individuals who enjoy new challenges. We handle highly complex “bet-the-company” IP matters for some of the world’s largest companies and organizations, and we bring the same level of focus, skill, and commitment to achieve the best possible outcomes in the pro bono matters we undertake. The results are highly rewarding. Our lawyers sharpen their skills by litigating criminal and civil cases, negotiating agreements and settlements, and working hand-in-hand with community non-profit organizations to address their constituencies’ legal issues. We help artists, children, the elderly, veterans, the homeless, and other groups in need that might not be heard without our assistance.

Here is a look at some of the organizations and programs that our pro bono program supports:

Litigation Mentor Program
This unique program combines service to the community with top-notch litigation training. Barbara Butterworth, who leads the effort, previously served as Deputy Director and Adjunct Professor of the Juvenile Justice Clinic of Georgetown University Law Center, and she has extensive criminal trial experience. The program enables our up-and-coming trial lawyers to accept court appointments as defense counsel with training, assistance, and encouragement from Barbara and other experienced litigators at the firm. Barbara serves as co-counsel and gives our lawyers a thorough grounding in the rigors of the courtroom and jury persuasion tactics as they represent their indigent criminal defendants in local courts.

The program expanded to Virginia in 2008, when the U.S. District Court in Alexandria approved our request to start a program. Jonathan Shapiro, a renowned trial lawyer, serves as our firm’s Virginia Litigation Mentor. The program allows our lawyers to handle pro bono criminal cases in conjunction with the Federal Public Defender's office.

Veteran’s Assistance Program 
Finnegan has one of the most, if not the most, extensive pro bono programs serving the needs of veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces. More than 200 attorneys and staff participate in Finnegan’s pro bono program serving disabled military veterans. The program focuses on appeals in the Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (CAVC) and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. We review approximately 100 appeals a month from the Board of Veterans’ Appeals (BAV). Since the program commenced in July 2008, the firm has handled more than 650 appeals, with 85 appeals in 2012. An exemplary case is our representation of Veteran “B” (now 88 years old), who during World War II sustained devastating high-explosive shell fragment wounds. In the face of evidence of a severe injury including nerve damage, BAV affirmed a compensation rating based solely on a narrow portion of the injury. Despite the efforts of VA counsel to secure an affirmance, the CAVC claims vacated BAV’s denial. The manner in which the Court remanded the case for readjudication virtually guarantees that Veteran “B” will see a significant increase in his compensation dating back several years.

Washington Area Lawyers for the Arts
Since assuming full-time responsibility for the WALA program in January 2004, we have matched volunteer lawyers with over 1,000 people from the arts community who need legal advice or representation on arts-related issues.

Children's Law Center
We handle many cases at the request of CLC on behalf of both children and adults. The cases typically involve adoption or guardianship of neglected children, contested custody, guardian ad litem representation of children, and other family law issues. Many of the cases require night and weekend time, visiting families and observing interaction between parents and children. We also helped CLC establish and implement its training program.

Asian Americans for Community Involvement
Our Palo Alto office works with ACCI to represent women and children who have been victims of domestic violence, helping them obtain restraining orders against abusers and allowing these victims to start a safer life. In addition to helping these victims through legal advocacy, we have also volunteered our time at the AACI Asian Women’s Home, a shelter for families and individuals who because of domestic violence have no where else to go.

Asylum Representation Program
One of our longest-established pro bono efforts, this program provides assistance to refugees who have fled their home country for racial, religious, ethnic, political, or social reasons and are now facing deportation from the United States.

Arts Council of Silicon Valley
In a rare opportunity to use the firm's IP licensing skills in a pro bono endeavor, we worked with an ACSV non-profit program, the Artsopolis Marketing Partnership, to develop a comprehensive licensing and network membership package for Artsopolis.com, an online resource for arts and cultural information.

Legal Aid Society
We helped Legal Aid develop its litigation training program, and we are on its volunteer attorney list to assist on cases ranging from landlord-tenant to child custody disputes.

Washington Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights & Urban Affairs
One of the firm’s partners serves on the Committee’s board of directors.  In addition, Finnegan provides financial support to assist the Committee with cases and projects involving issues of discrimination, poverty, and education reform both in and outside the D.C. metro area. Additionally, Finnegan is working with the Committee on ways to provide legal support to the Committee’s projects.

DC Bar Pro Bono Program
The Bar looks to us as a resource for support when it is in need of an experienced litigation firm.

Trademark and Copyright Pro Bono Program 
Through a grassroots referral network, our lawyers have provided pro bono trademark and copyright advice to organizations ranging from non-profit community organizations to artists and innovators.

Law Foundation of Silicon Valley
Our Palo Alto office has worked with the Law Foundation through its Fair Housing Law Project to help clients who have been victims of predatory lending practices by financial institutions.