Print PDF

Events

Webinar: Internet of Things: Patent Liability, Enforcement, and Licensing

Finnegan-Hosted Event; Webinar; Speaking Engagement

May 4, 2017

Webinar

“[E]very industry is moving from offering products and owning assets to offering services and managing interactions. Platforms will underpin this shift with IoT fueling the revolution.” –Forbes

The Internet of Things (IoT) pulls together thousands of devices to deliver solutions reminiscent of the Jetson’s futuristic utopia. From wearables, to smart cities, to smart environments, IoT spans the entire globe and the possibilities to create innovative applications are endless. But such a massively distributed network raises many intellectual property issues, opening a company to legal disputes if they haphazardly operate in this space. As the IoT market develops, competitors will look towards their patent portfolios to keep others out of their sector.

This webinar will discuss intellectual property issues for IoT technology, including patent liability, enforcement, and licensing. Topics will include:

  • How entities can be liable for patent infringement by actions of IoT partners, suppliers, and customers?
  • What licensing regimes exist for IoT technology?
  • How to mitigate risk?
Moderator: 
Cory C. Bell

Speakers: 
Philip L. Cupitt, Ph.D. 
Kenie Ho

Date:
Thursday, May 4, 2017

Time:
15:00 - 16:00 BST
16:00 - 17:00 CEST
10:00 - 11:00 a.m. EDT

Register: There is no charge to attend this program. Please register by Wednesday, May 3, 2017. Webinar access and dial-in information will be sent upon registration.

Scheduling Conflict? Finnegan records all hosted webinars. To view the recorded program, simply register for the webinar and you will receive an access link shortly after the live program is complete.

Speaker:
Cupitt Ph.D., Philip L.
Ho, Kenie
Bell, Cory C.